In 1996 voters approved a 2 cents per $100 of assessed value to the tax bill and in 1998 it increased to 5 cents per $100 for a period of 5 years. It is currently back to 2 cents.

Using the Master Plan's greenway map the Open Space Committee made a list of all parcels of land and ranked them on a 1 to 10 scale by the following features:

Mature forests; good agricultural soils; streams and wetlands; limestone; bio diversity; wildlife; historic elements; scenic corridors; steep slopes; proximity to other preserved land; development pressure Grants were obtained from the state; county; and non-profit conservation groups.

Land was purchased in 2 ways: development rights only as in farm preservation and in fee where the entire parcel was purchased.


  1. 126 acres Muckelman Farm located on W side of 629 and Molasses Hill Rd
  2. 221 acre Smith Farm located on the West and East side of Rt 629 and Payne Rd
  3. 129.46 acres Le Compte Farm includes 10 acres of public trail around perimeter. Located along Valley Crest and Allerton Rds. Parking area on Allerton across from Blue Cliff Rd
  4. 202 acre Herr Farm located off Stanton Mt Rd
  5. 56.97 acres Teets farm located Rt 639
  6. 103 acres Sutton Farm located Rt 639 and David Post Rd
  7. 55.1 Spencer Farm acres located on Spencer Lane off Petticoat
  8. 77.56 acres Romano on Spencer Lane off Petticoat


    1. 95 acres Bray's Hill Preserve located on E end of Sand Hill Rd Trails developed
      (click here for a Trail Map of Bray's Hill)
    2. 80 acres Hackett's Preserve located off Sunrise Circle turn at mailbox14
    3. 153 acres Prostak Farm located Rt 626 and Stanton Mt Rd
    4. 64.45 acres Bundt Park located on Red School House Rd. Active and passive recreation
    5. 26 acres Raritan River walk located rear of Wellness Center on 31 N
    6. 55 acres Springside Farm located off E Main
    7. 19.47 acres adjacent to Spruce Run Reservoir
    8. 292 acres Windy Acres located off Main St right past Buzbys

Click here for the Clinton Township Open Space Recreation Plan.

 Open Space Advisory Committee  Term Expires
 Rich Shaw  12/31/2021
 Mike Aversa  12/31/2022
 Les Giese  12/31/2021
 Amy Switlyk, Councilwoman  12/31/2021
 Patrica Buriak, Environmental  12/31/2020
 Paul Maiwaldt, Alternate 1  12/31/2021
 Antje Doyle, Alternate 2  12/31/2022

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Download Acrobat Reader Download Flash Player Download QuickTime Download Windows Media Player Download Microsoft Silverlight Download Word Viewer Download Excel Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer
Last updated: 1/12/2021 11:23:50 AM